Full of Creative Juice (grapefruit juice, of course)

March 27, 2011 at 3:47 pm 1 comment

Creaative juice

 

I wake up everyday with a long list of things to do, but I never know where something will lead me, or what I will learn each day. Today’s Grapefruitoon was “just” going to be a face on a glass of grapefruit juice– how simple does that sound? Yet once I got into it one thing lead to anther… the shape of the glass, the right angle and lighting. After switching to a wine glass I wanted the stem to be the neck and shot from the right angle so the base of the glass would be a suggestion of the shoulder. it was difficult to get just the right amount of refection in the glass, and enough light to distinguish the side and the top surface of the juice to create the smile– and then swirling the glass to get some small bubbles to put more emphasis on the mouth.  The nose was drawn with a dry erase maker (which I use a lot for markings on Grapefruitoons). Moving the glass made the “mouth” move so I took a video of it. I could revisit it with video or animation at a later date.

So here it is… the most time consuming Grapefruitoon, the longest explanation, and the latest post in the day. PHEW! I am really ready for a glass of wine!

Entry filed under: Faces. Tags: .

Up, up and away!!!! Bright Idea

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. NJ cowgirl  |  March 27, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    …but well worth the effort.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


